Three Cups of Tea – Greg Mortenson

Very powerful non-fiction loaner from my dad (he got it as a Christmas gift I think).  After Greg fails at his attempt to summit K2 he stumbles into a life of attempting to bring schools to rural Pakistan and then later, Afghanistan.  Being a part of the public education system sometimes makes me forget or lose track of the power of education to those who don’t take it for granted.  This book reminded me.  Look at  http://www.girleffect.org/ or http://www.ikat.org/

About msdlbennett

Developing on line curriculum for E-schools.
This entry was posted in Must reads and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Three Cups of Tea – Greg Mortenson

  1. Doug Bennett says:

    “Three Cups of Tea” is a great read. It is a true story that reads like a novel. The story itself describes one man’s passion to provide education for the children in the mountain villages of Pakistan and Afghanistan, with special emphasis on the education of young girls, something unheard of in many of the villages. It is a moving, exciting, sometimes amusing, account of Greg Mortensen’s victories and defeats as he stumbles along on a mission that initially appeared to be impossible.

  2. Meghan says:

    Greg Mortenson will be on Charlie Rose tonight on Bloomberg Television discussing his endeavors and his perspective on Afghanistan. If you liked Three Cups of Tea, you might be interested in learning more about the man behind the book. There’s a clip of tonight’s episode, including Greg’s segment, posted on Facebook at http://www.Facebook.com/BloombergTelevision.

    All the best,

    Meghan
    Community Manager
    Bloomberg Television

    • msdlbennett says:

      Sounds interesting, but the web site of Bloomberg TV does not list Canada as a country. I tried the U.S. as a country because we get a lot of ‘merican channels, but, of course, I don’t have a zip code so . . . could not find it. Will the interview be linked on your website?

  3. jarrahpenguin says:

    I will definitely add it to my list! Also I’m really enjoying the blog so far. Thanks for sharing your recommendations! 🙂

    • msdlbennett says:

      Great, I’m glad you are following it. And as I know you are an activist, thank goodness some of my former students are, I can see that this one would draw you in. I was visiting with Ms. Thomas today and she said “Stones into Schools”, his next one, I think I have the title right, is in her reading pile. In particular Mortenson’s interest in, willingness to support, and communication of how education/school of girls can affect developing countries was encouraging and fascinating. By the way, not all of the posts on this blog will necessarily be my recommendations, I’m going to record absolutely every published “book” I read from now until my demise.

Leave a Reply

